Food With Dairy In Them

5

Food with dairy in them are a kind of food with dairy in it. These foods have high calcium. Foods with dairy in it also contains vitamin D, protein, zinc and selenium. Food should be stored for about one day at room temperature and about three days in the refrigerator.

ADVERTISEMENT

Food With Dairy In Them

ADVERTISEMENT

These foods often contain cow’s milk protein. Check their labels before buying. If you’re eating out, ask if milk was used to make them.

  • Au gratin dishes and white sauces
  • Baked goods — bread, cookies, crackers, cakes
  • Battered and fried foods
  • Cake mix
  • Cereals
  • Chewing gum
  • Chocolate and cream candy
  • Coffee creamers
  • Creamed or scalloped foods
  • Donuts
  • Granola bars
  • Gravies
  • Indian food, in which ghee (a form of butter) is very common
  • Malted milk
  • Margarine
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Meats — canned and processed, including cold cuts and deli meats
  • Nougat, found in some candy
  • Salad dressings
  • Sherbet

Ingredients With Milk

If you see these listed on a label, the food has milk proteins in it: 

  • Artificial butter or cheese flavor
  • Casein or caseinates
  • Diacetyl
  • Curd
  • Ghee
  • Hydrolysates
  • Lactalbumin, lactalbumin phosphate
  • Lactose, lactoglobulin, lactoferrin, lactulose
  • Protein powders
  • Recaldent
  • Rennet
  • Tagatose
  • Whey or whey products

Dairy Products to Avoid

  • Butter and butter fat
  • Cheese, including cottage cheese and cheese sauces
  • Cream, including sour cream
  • Custard
  • Milk, including buttermilk, powdered milk, and evaporated milk
  • Yogurt
  • Ice cream
  • Pudding
ADVERTISEMENT

18 Surprising Hidden Dairy Sources

Whether you’re just beginning a dairy free life, or you’ve been living without milk for a long time, hidden sources of dairy are an issue. It’s going to be an ongoing battle, and I can’t stress enough how important it is to read your nutrition labels. If you’re ever unsure, I recommend contacting the company…

Whether you’re just beginning a dairy free life, or you’ve been living without milk for a long time, hidden sources of dairy are an issue. It’s going to be an ongoing battle, and I can’t stress enough how important it is to read your nutrition labels.

If you’re ever unsure, I recommend contacting the company directly or steering clear of the product all together, especially if you have a food allergy. It’s not worth the risk.

1 – CHEWING GUM

Apparently not all gum is dairy free. Who would have though? Some brands use an additive called Recaldent, which is derived from milk.

2 – BREADCRUMBS & CROUTONS

Store bought breadcrumbs and croutons all tend to have milk listed in their ingredients. I tend to buy Panko and cornflake crumbs for this reason, but I still always double check the ingredients.

I’ve had to put some back on the shelf after seeing milk on the list.

3 – SHERBERT

Sherbet is not sorbet. It’s made with milk and is really just fruity ice cream in disguise. Don’t make the mistake of buying this instead of sorbet.

4 – PROCESSED MEATS (DELI MEAT, HOT DOGS, ETC).

Many brands use whey or some sort of milk as a cheap filler for their products, and a lot of premium sausages have cheese included.

5 – BREAD

It’s not uncommon for bread dough to be fortified with milk or butter, especially when it comes to dinner rolls and sweeter breads like brioche. It’s a common practice in the baking world, but there are still plenty of breads out there that are dairy free.

6 – CANNED FISH

This is something that I did not know about it. I was actually really bummed to learn that something that should have a single ingredient has unnecessary fillers.

I have yet to come across a brand with milk listed while shopping, but I wanted to include it for reference.

7 – CHIPS (AND OTHER SNACK FOODS)

A lot of these use whey to make their products creamy or to enhance their savory flavor. Personally, I think it’s a total load of crap, – like why do salt & vinegar chips need that? – but I don’t manufacture food products, so what do I know.

8 – FROZEN CHICKEN NUGGETS & FISH STICKS

I think it’s something in the batter, but I find these products to be hit or miss for me. Luckily, I can normally find something that is free from dairy and safe for our whole family to eat.

9 – SALAD DRESSINGS

I’m not just talking ranch dressing here. Even mass-produced vinaigrettes can have milk in the ingredients. Don’t worry though, making your own is super easy. Try my caesar vinaigrette to start.

10 – CRACKERS

Aside from crackers that are cheesy, there are still quite a few brands that include milk in their cracker ingredients. Always check the labels.

11 – MARGARINE

Even though it’s marketed as an alternative to butter, not all margarine is dairy free. Many use whey to make their product taste more like butter. (Check out our favorite dairy free butter substitutes).

12 – ALCOHOL

This one is a big problem because there are no laws requiring alcohol products to label their ingredients. And, unfortunately, milk and milk derivatives are commonly used in the beer and wine making processes.

Even some cocktails, like the Polynesian Pearl Diver tiki cocktail, contain milk.

We regularly use barnivore.com to see if products are vegan-friendly (which means their dairy free). Other than that, you should contact the manufacturer if you need more information.

13 – GRANOLA & CEREAL BARS

Sometimes they’re made with butter and sometimes manufacturers add whey powder for added flavor. Either way, it’s something to watch out for.

There are tons of vegan and dairy free options on the market though, so just look around until you find one you like.

14 – SPICE BLENDS

Most spice blends will be safe, especially if it’s something like cajun seasoning or pumpkin pie spice, but things like taco seasoning and ranch mix often have added whey or milk powder, so always double check.

This homemade ranch dip uses a dairy free packet of ranch seasoning. This time, the generic was dairy free and the name brand wasn’t.

15 – BOUILLON & GRAVY MIXES

I’ve found that beef bouillon tends to contain milk more often, but you would be surprised how many brands use whey as a filler in their products.

I always reach for loose bouillon rather than cubes, and I have found a few gravy mixes that don’t have milk. But, it varies by store.

16 – INSTANT POTATOES

This one is a little more obvious, but I wanted to include it for anyone who uses instant potatoes. There usually dried milk and butter flavoring in these products, so it’s best to make your own dairy free mashed potatoes.

17 – MEDICATIONS

It’s hard to believe that pharmaceutical companies would use a top 8 allergen in medication, but it’s more common than you might think.

If you’re having mystery symptoms, try checking your labels for ingredients like whey or lactose. I also recommend letting your pharmacists know to avoid any future problem.

18 – LACTOSE FREE PRODUCTS

Even though they’re labeled lactose free, they’re really just dairy products with the lactase enzyme added.

If you’re lactose intolerant, great, but if you have a milk allergy or casein intolerance, you should avoid these.

Top 10 surprising foods that contain dairy

Hero image
ADVERTISEMENT

Which are the foods that contain diary. Foods you must knowing but are they surprising. What about milk is it good or bad?

When buying some products from a convenient store, do the ingredients of the product determine what you will buy? Do you always check the ingredients to know if milk is in the product? Is milk bad for you?

Most people are not aware that some foods contain milk. Milk and dairy ingredients such as whey, casein, butter oil and powdered milk are added to food to increase protein and calcium, lengthen shelf-life and enhance flavors.

There is milk in most of the food that you don’t expect, therefore, avoiding milk become difficult for those who want to avoid allergies or those who prefer milk-free diet. Sometimes the food products are marketed and can be deceiving as they may contain milk.

Fortunately, more brands of food are beginning to move away from adding additives and fillers. Since milk is the top allergen, most manufacturers identify milk as one of the ingredients. Regardless, you need to be vigilant and ensure that you read ingredients lists before consuming anything. Some foods have misleading labels even when it has dairy. Here are the top 10 surprising foods that contain milk.

1. Baby Cereals

Most doctors recommend fortified cereals as the first solid food for babies. These meals are called oat cereals or rice cereals and people tend to assume that these meals only contain oats and rice. However, infant cereals usually have skim milk powder which is added to increase calcium and protein.

2. Potato Chips

The ingredients of regular potato chips are salt, oil and potatoes, but flavored chips contain lactose. Flavors like onion, sour cream and cheddar is known to contain milk, but you will be surprised to know that other flavors such as dill pickle, ketchup and barbecue include milk as well.

3. Tomato Sauce

Most people believe that “original” tomato sauce contain only spices and tomatoes. It is surprising to realize that some pasta sauces contain Romano cheese. We expect that pasta sauces that identify cream and cheese in their names to contain milk, but we forget to check if traditional or original tomato sauces contain milk.

4. Chicken Nuggets and Fish Sticks

People who have ever made homemade chicken fingers and fish sticks can easily assume that commercial breaded chicken or fish contain protein with spices, wheat and maybe eggs. Well, nearly all frozen products contain milk.

5. Nutella

Consumers assume that since Nutella is a hazelnut spread, then it is just like other nut butters which contain sweeteners, oil and salt. However, the main ingredients of Nutella are palm oil, sugar, cocoa, hazelnuts, whey powder and skim milk powder.

6. Breakfast Bars and Granola bars

The ingredients of homemade granola bars are grains, seeds, nuts and sweeteners such as molasses or honey. Packaged granola bars have the same ingredients, but also contain milk ingredients.

7. All Beef Hot Dogs

Just by the name, consumers might assume that the hot dogs contain beef only. You need to know that it isn’t always the case. Most of the hot dog brands that advertise “all beef” contain milk ingredients as well as water, beef and corn starch.

8. Vinaigrettes

Sometimes salad dressing tend to be deceiving as people believe that creamy dressing contain milk while vinaigrettes don’t. It is wrong to assume that. Some creamy dressing don’t have any milk while vinaigrette have Romano and Parmesan cheese. Reading through the entire ingredient list is crucial. Sometimes product names, textures and descriptions doesn’t help in identifying if a product contain milk.

9. Canned Pasta in the Tomato Sauce

Most kids love eating pasta and that explains the reason why canned pasta is made in fun shapes such as princesses, alphabets or superheroes. Canned goods are labeled “pasta in tomato sauce” but usually contain milk or cheese for extra nutrients and flavor.

10. Crackers

We expect to find milk in cheese-flavored crackers but not in the “original” flavored crackers. Sometimes crackers contain modified milk ingredients that improve texture and lengthen shelf life. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Like
Close
TheSuperHealthyFood © Copyright 2022. All rights reserved.
Close